xdebug

Any wishes or suggestions for MAMP?
Post here what functions you are still missing for MAMP.

Moderator: severin

tedivm
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri 2. Oct 2009, 19:44

xdebug

Post by tedivm » Fri 2. Oct 2009, 19:55

One of the first things I do after grabbing MAMP is drop in the xdebug module. Its fairly easy- phpify/compile/install (or just dump the binary in), but would be cool if its included by default.

The two issues you're likely to run into-

1) You need a seperate xdebug binary for each version of PHP.
2) It is not compatible with opcachers like eaccelerator, so it should only be enables when that isn't.

Dirk Einecke
Site Admin
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu 4. Nov 2004, 11:11
Location: Karlsruhe (Germany)
Contact:

Re: xdebug

Post by Dirk Einecke » Fri 2. Oct 2009, 20:52

Hi,

Xdebug is included by default since MAMP 1.8

greetings
Dirk Einecke
Best Regards / Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Dirk Einecke (MAMP & MAMP PRO Team)

NEW: MAMP & MAMP PRO 3 released | MAMP & MAMP PRO 3 veröffentlicht

All about MAMP & MAMP PRO: Website | Bugbase | Blog (german) | Blog (english) | Online documentation (Wiki)

tedivm
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri 2. Oct 2009, 19:44

Re: xdebug

Post by tedivm » Fri 2. Oct 2009, 21:17

Ah, very cool. The features page hasn't been updated, and its not included in the source download or svn repository, so I missed that.

ccharlton
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu 1. Jul 2010, 17:49

Re: xdebug

Post by ccharlton » Thu 1. Jul 2010, 17:57

New Xdebug 2.1 is out and I'd love to see a repo/option to upgrade this component without having to upgrade all of MAMP... and not have to compile. :)

ccharlton
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu 1. Jul 2010, 17:49

Enable/Disable xdebug

Post by ccharlton » Thu 1. Jul 2010, 18:00

Since its a hassle to enable/disable Xdebug by editing php.ini (template), I would like to request a checkbox like how APC/Zend Optimizer are setup in MAMP Pro for disabling/enabling Xdebug.

JootecFromMars
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat 18. Sep 2010, 15:15

Re: xdebug

Post by JootecFromMars » Sat 18. Sep 2010, 15:23

I notice on xdebug.org it states that xdebug v2.1 is required for php 5.3 support. However xdebug v2.0.5 is supplied with php 5.3 in MAMP. I can't confirm anything as I have not tried to debug a php 5.3 project yet with MAMP.

Regards

Dirk Einecke
Site Admin
Posts: 278
Joined: Thu 4. Nov 2004, 11:11
Location: Karlsruhe (Germany)
Contact:

Re: xdebug

Post by Dirk Einecke » Mon 20. Sep 2010, 08:27

Hi,
JootecFromMars wrote:I notice on xdebug.org it states that xdebug v2.1 is required for php 5.3 support. However xdebug v2.0.5 is supplied with php 5.3 in MAMP.
where have you seen this information on the xdebug.org page?

Dirk
Best Regards / Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Dirk Einecke (MAMP & MAMP PRO Team)

NEW: MAMP & MAMP PRO 3 released | MAMP & MAMP PRO 3 veröffentlicht

All about MAMP & MAMP PRO: Website | Bugbase | Blog (german) | Blog (english) | Online documentation (Wiki)

JootecFromMars
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat 18. Sep 2010, 15:15

Re: xdebug

Post by JootecFromMars » Mon 20. Sep 2010, 10:42

Dirk Einecke wrote:where have you seen this information on the xdebug.org page?Dirk
If you look under 'Announcements' on the xdebug.org homepage, you'll see the posts for 2010-01-03 and 2010-06-29 both state v2.1 provides php 5.3 support.

And then on the author's own homepage - http://derickrethans.nl/xdebug-2.1-released.html, it states that v2.1 provides full php 5.3 support. Although I'm from Mars, English is actually my first language, so the author's statement possibly indicates that releases of xdebug before v2.1 may support php 5.3 but not fully. Only v2.1 provides full feature complete support.

jounderw
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu 11. Nov 2010, 16:13

Re: xdebug

Post by jounderw » Thu 18. Nov 2010, 17:33

XDebug provides a number of facilities that you may find useful. It can produce code coverage reports, performance analyses, and detailed debugging messages.

But the first thing you are likely to notice is XDebug's stack trace messages.

Once you have XDebug installed as described above, the next time a PHP error occurs on your server you will notice something new. The old-style PHP errors and warnings are gone. Instead of seeing "PHP
access control systems

christinecccc
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun 24. Apr 2011, 19:27
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Contact:

Re: xdebug

Post by christinecccc » Sun 24. Apr 2011, 19:32

Can anyone tell me on how to use this xdebug thing?

lancerohn
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed 22. Jun 2011, 07:44

Re: xdebug

Post by lancerohn » Wed 22. Jun 2011, 07:46

Hi,

Xdebug is included by default since MAMP 1.8

greetings
Lance Rohn
Best Paint Sprayers for Home.

smosley
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed 6. Jul 2011, 16:14

Re: xdebug

Post by smosley » Thu 7. Jul 2011, 03:56

I have been using the xdebug feature and I think that it works very well. You do not have to compile everything and make it run again and you have the power to edit and see the changes right on the fly. It really is a good addition to the set of functions available for mamp version.

It really makes developing and testing a lot easier.

mike95910
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue 19. Jul 2011, 19:01

Re: xdebug

Post by mike95910 » Tue 19. Jul 2011, 19:07

Well i got to say i love MAMP and glad it works so well for a MAC user like me but i still cannot find this debug mode that is atuomatically included like you all say.... Can we get some step by step instructions on where to get it and how exactly it works?

sib73
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat 30. Jul 2011, 20:06

Re: xdebug

Post by sib73 » Sat 30. Jul 2011, 20:17

I agree with mike95910: A step-by-step would be great!

I am using MAMP 2.0.1 on Mac OS X Lion and I am trying to set up xdebug with NetBeans 7. I included the settings described here http://netbeans.org/kb/docs/php/configu ... ableXdebug in /MAMP/bin/php/php5.3.6/conf/php.ini, but I cannot get it to work.

Thanks in advance!

sib73
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat 30. Jul 2011, 20:06

Re: xdebug

Post by sib73 » Sun 31. Jul 2011, 17:44

I agree with mike95910: a step-by-step would be great! I have installed MAMP on Mac OS X Lion, and was planning to use it with NetBeans 7. Everything works fine, apart from xdebug, which NetBeans can't seem to connect to. I added the information outlined here http://netbeans.org/kb/docs/php/configu ... ableXdebug to /Applications/MAMP/bin/php/php5.3.6/conf/php.ini but no luck. When I type 'which php' into the terminal window, the path is given as /usr/bin/php, which is the Mac default php interpreter. Could that be the problem?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest