Note:
Please direct all future questions to Stackoverflow.com.
MAMP PRO customers can direct their questions to support.appsolute.de.
Hinweis:
Bitte posten Sie ab jetzt Ihre Fragen bei Stackoverflow.com.
Unseren Support für MAMP PRO erreichen Sie unter support.appsolute.de.

Error: #1046 - No database selected (Can't import DB)

Report any found bug here. We are grateful for any useful clues.

Moderator: severin

Error: #1046 - No database selected (Can't import DB)

Postby wpdesigner » Thu Mar 24, 2011 3:48 am

03/24/11 UPDATE:

I did reinstall MAMP and I was able to alter this error. Because I am new at DB issues, it's hard to know where (or how often) I erred. There were several frustrating things going on causing multiple errors. Regarding just the database import; I believe that I was not actually selected on the newly created DB at my host provider when I tried to import. This certainly simplifies the message "No database selected."

Prior to uploading/importing the existing database, I also Search and Replaced all soon to be invalid pointing ('http://localhost' --> 'http:www.domain.com')

This enabled a smooth transition from the local version of Wordpress to the live version.

----------------------------------
Hello,

I've been struggling with this problem for about 7 days now; I'm not seeing others here with this same error, but here goes.

1.) I developed/customized a Wordpress site locally by using MAMP. I am on MAC OSX v. 10.5.8. All was fine and lovely during the development period. I printed out and studied several step-by-step guides of how to move the site from its local environment to a hosted server (the live domain).

2.) These steps have now been accomplished EXCEPT a successful import of the database that was created using MAMP's MyPHP interface. I have even switched host providers! Both host providers -- while trying to import the database in their MyPHP interface -- comes back with the exact same error, see below:

Error

SQL query: